TEXAS FIREARM ACADEMY
OC PEPPER SPRAY CLASS (4 Hour Course) SABRE PERSONAL SAFETY PROGRAM
Both Non-Commissioned (unarmed) and Commissioned (armed) security officers are required to complete a training course (such as OC) in order to be able to legally carry a “Chemical Depending Device” under Texas Law. House Bill 1132 which took effect Sept. 1st, 2005 requires that all security officers whom want to carry a “Chemical Dispensing Device” must complete a training course. The Texas Firearm Academy SABRE OC program satisfies this Legislative Requirement.
Course Tuition: $60.
SECURITY LEVEL III CLASS (40 Hour Course)
Texas Firearm Academy is now offering Level II and Level III Security certification courses.
We can offer Level III courses in Full Day one-week courses and Half Day two-week courses. The convenient two-week one-half day classes permit your staff to attend without causing a disruption to their work schedule and your posting schedules.
Course tuitions are as follows:
Level II Course $60. Level III Courses $150.
Level III Group discounts: 5 or more students $125 each. 10 or more students $100 each.
Level III Certification renewals $60.
LEVEL II AND III SECURITY TRAINING
SECURITY LEVEL II CLASS
(6 Hour Course)
During Level Two(II) training you will be administered the required Level Two(II) Training material. You will then take a test. Once you pass it you are awarded a certificate of completion showing you completed Level Two(II) Training.
You do not need to complete Level Two(II) training in order to sign up and attend a Level III Commission Course. However, once your selected security employer sends the application to the State to apply for a Commission License you will have to have completed Level Two(II), or at least be sending in the Level Two(II) Certificates of Completion at the same time you are applying.
Eligibility Requirements for Security Guards
All security professionals must be at least 18 years old. They must meet general fitness requirements. They cannot have been discharged from the military dishonorably or under any other conditions that would be viewed as prohibitive. They cannot be indicted or charged with felonies or Class A or B misdemeanors. They may not be registered as sex offenders in any state. They may not be mentally incompetent in the view of a court.
The individual will need to complete an approved training program at Level II. Required topics include 1) state law and Board rule and 2) note taking and report writing. The program will culminate in a test (https://www.txdps.state.tx.us/RSD/PSB/Testingindex.htm).
A security guard who has a current valid ID is eligible to transfer eligibility and work for a new employer. However, the employer will need to file an update (https://www.txdps.state.tx.us/RSD/PSB/FAQs/index.htm).
Requirements for Commissioned Security Guards
In order to be authorized to work as an armed guard, an individual must meet eligibility, training, and skill requirements. He or she must be, in the view of the licensing agency, capable of exercising good judgment. The licensing agency may determine that a person is incapable because of a serious psychiatric disorder or condition even if the condition is currently in remission or being managed by medication. However, an individual with a past diagnosis may be licensed if a psychiatrist provides a statement indicating that the person is indeed capable of good judgment. According to state statute, medical records may be required (http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/OC/htm/OC.1702.htm).
A person may also be disqualified because of a chemically dependence, a restraining order, or a prohibition from possessing firearms. A person who has been convicted of two alcohol- or substance-related misdemeanors at the Class B level or greater is, in the view of the licensing agency, chemically dependent. Eligibility is discussed in-depth in Section 1702.163 of state statute.
Training must be completed through an approved school or instructor. The prospective commissioned guard will need to score satisfactorily on a test. An individual who completes training and demonstrates competence with firearms will be issued a Level III certificate.
Individuals who have current or recent experience as peace officers may be eligible for training exemptions; requirements are described in Rule 35.131.
The commission may be transferred under certain conditions. The Board must be notified of new employment.
SECURITY LEVEL III CLASS
(40 Hour Course)
Laws & Regulations, Notes & Report Writing
Crime Scene Protection
Use of Force, Criminal/Civil
Intro to Handcuffing
Live Fire: Handgun & Shotgun
State’s 100 Question Written Exam